worldsteel, Chicago

worldsteel elects new officers and welcomes new members

The Board of Directors of the World Steel Association (worldsteel) has elected the following new officers for 2015/2016 at worldsteel’s 49th Annual Conference in Chicago, USA. The new Chairman takes office from today, Tuesday 13th October, 2015. The new officers are elected for one year, until October 2016.

  • Chairman:    Wolfgang Eder, Chairman and CEO, voestalpine AG

  • Vice Chairman: John Ferriola, Chairman, CEO and President, Nucor Corporation

  • Treasurer: Eiji Hayashida, President and CEO, JFE Holdings, Inc.

On behalf of the Board of Directors, Edwin Basson, Director General of the World Steel Association, said: “We are very pleased that Wolfgang Eder has agreed to accept a second term as Chairman. Eiji Hayashida will also continue as Treasurer and we welcome John Ferriola as our new Vice Chairman. We are also delighted to welcome our new members.”

The Board of Directors also elected the 2015/16 Executive Committee:

  • Wolfgang Eder, voestalpine AG

  • John Ferriola, Nucor Corporation

  • Eiji Hayashida, JFE Holdings, Inc.

  • Heinrich Hiesinger, ThyssenKrupp AG

  • Sajjan Jindal, JSW Steel Ltd

  • Oh-Joon Kwon, Posco

  • André Gerdau Johannpeter, Gerdau S.A.

  • Mario Longhi, United States Steel Corporation

  • Lakshmi Mittal, ArcelorMittal

  • Alexey Mordashov, Severstal JSC

  • Paolo Rocca, Techint Group

  • Kosei Shindo, Nippon Steel & Sumitomo Metal Corporation

  • Lejiang Xu, Baosteel Group Corporation

  • Edwin Basson, World Steel Association

The Board of Directors also welcomed the following companies as new members of worldsteel:

Regular members (steel companies producing more than 2 million short tons (1.8 Mt) per annum)

  • AK Steel Corporation, represented by Roger Newport

Affiliated Members (steel related organisations)

  • Austrian Mining & Steel Association, represented by Roman Stiftner

  • The Indian Steel Association, represented by Sanak Mishra.

worldsteel, Chicago